
Top 10 anti-ageing creams in Pakistan, compared
Two questions separate this category: which retinoid is actually in the jar, and is its percentage stated. Retinol at a stated percentage is the reference point. Retinyl palmitate is an ester several conversion steps weaker than retinol, and many cheap creams sold here as "retinol" use it while the front of the jar rarely says so.
Prices for Elluvi, Saeed Ghani and Olim were read from each brand's own product page on 5 September 2026, and the imported rows from Pakistani reseller listings the same day. ChiltanPure and Mama Organic were read from their own product pages on 14 September 2026; Pond's and Olay from Naheed, which is where most people in this country actually buy them. Read the INCI list rather than the front label: on both budget creams below, retinyl palmitate sits at or near the end of the ingredient list, which places it under 1% and usually far under. That is not a scandal — it is what Rs. 560 buys — but it is not comparable to a stated 0.3% retinol, and without the percentage there is no way to compare it. Three of the ten state a percentage. Pond's Age Miracle, a familiar name on Pakistani shelves, names no retinoid at all.
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
| Cream | Retinoid and stated strength | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Elluvi Hydra Glow Cream | Retinol 0.3%, stated, with niacinamide 5%, alpha arbutin 2%, coenzyme Q10 1%, hyaluronic acid 0.5% and kojic acid. 50 ml | Rs. 1,449 (Rs. 29.0 per ml) |
| ChiltanPure Retinol Cream | Retinol 0.5%, stated, with hyaluronic acid 0.5% and vitamin E. 50 ml. The one other cream in this table that names its percentage, and the cheapest that does | Rs. 980 (Rs. 19.6 per ml) |
| Mama Organic Retinol Night Cream | Retinol named with niacinamide, shea butter and jojoba; percentage not stated. 50 g | Rs. 1,595 (Rs. 31.9 per g) |
| Saeed Ghani Anti Aging Retinol Night Cream | Retinyl palmitate, not retinol; percentage not stated. With niacinamide and shea butter. 40 g | Rs. 680 |
| Olim Naturals Retinol Cream | Retinyl palmitate, listed last on the INCI; percentage not stated. With niacinamide and alpha arbutin. 55 g | Rs. 560 |
| Pond's Age Miracle Youthful Glow Day Cream | No retinoid named at all. The listed actives are niacinamide and glycerin, under an “Age Miracle complex” with SPF. 50 ml | Rs. 1,750 (Rs. 35.0 per ml) |
| Olay Regenerist Retinol 24 Night Moisturiser | Retinol with vitamin B3; percentage not stated on the Pakistani listing. 50 g, imported | Rs. 10,700 (Rs. 214.0 per g) |
| COSRX Retinol Rejuvenating Cream | Retinol, percentage not stated on the Pakistani listing. 20 ml, imported | Rs. 11,955 (Rs. 597.8 per ml) |
| The Ordinary Retinol 0.5% in Squalane | Retinol 0.5%, stated. A serum in squalane rather than a cream, so it needs a moisturiser over it. 30 ml, imported | Rs. 5,450 (Rs. 181.7 per ml) |
| CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum | Encapsulated retinol, percentage not stated. 30 ml, imported | Rs. 6,089 (Rs. 203.0 per ml) |
The ingredients ranked by evidence
Sunscreen first, by a wide margin. Then retinoids. Then vitamin C as an antioxidant. Then niacinamide and peptides as supporting ingredients. Everything else in the category has weaker evidence than its marketing implies.
That order is not controversial in dermatology and is almost never the order used in advertising, because sunscreen is cheap and unglamorous and retinol requires patience. The two most effective steps are the two hardest to sell.
Why sunscreen outperforms every cream
Most visible ageing on Pakistani skin is photoageing — UV damage accumulated over decades. It shows as pigmentation, uneven tone, loss of elasticity and fine lines. Preventing it is far easier than treating it.
Compare the skin on the inside of your upper arm with the skin on the back of your hand. Same age, same genetics, different UV exposure. That difference is the size of the effect no cream matches. Sunscreen is not currently sold by Elluvi. Use a broad-spectrum SPF 50 from a trusted brand every morning.
What a retinoid actually changes
Retinoids increase cell turnover and support collagen production. Over twelve weeks or more they improve fine lines, rough texture, pore appearance and tone. They do not lift sagging skin or remove deep folds.
Prescription tretinoin is stronger and faster; cosmetic retinol is gentler and available without a doctor. Both need daily sunscreen, and both are judged at three months rather than three weeks.
What no cream can do
Nothing topical lifts sagging jowls, removes deep nasolabial folds, changes bone structure or replaces lost facial volume. Those are structural, and the honest answer is a procedure or nothing.
This is worth stating plainly because the category's advertising blurs it constantly. A cream that claims a facelift effect is describing a photograph taken under different lighting.
Cream or serum
The format matters less than the active and its percentage. A serum penetrates faster and suits oily and combination skin; a cream adds occlusion and suits dry skin and northern winters. Choose the format your skin tolerates and keep the active constant.
If you are already using a moisturiser you like, a retinol serum layered under it is often more practical than replacing it with a retinol cream. If you would rather have one jar, a retinol night cream does both jobs adequately.
Peptides, collagen and the claims to discount
Peptides have modest, real evidence as supporting ingredients. Collagen applied to the skin does not enter it — the molecule is far too large — so a cream containing collagen is using it as a humectant, not a rebuild.
Similarly, stem cell extracts, gold and caviar are formulation stories. They are not harmful, they simply are not the reason a product works, and they raise the price considerably.
When to start, and what it costs
Sunscreen from childhood. Retinol from the mid to late twenties if there is a reason. A locally formulated retinol cream or peptide serum runs Rs. 1,200 to Rs. 2,500; imported equivalents run Rs. 4,000 upward with no formulation advantage.
Elluvi Age Defying Serum is Rs. 1,299 for 30 ml with a peptide complex, 0.3% retinol, 5% niacinamide, 2% alpha arbutin and 0.5% hyaluronic acid, aimed at experienced retinol users. Hydra Glow Cream is Rs. 1,449 for 50 ml, gentler and better as a first retinol.
How to use it without irritation
One retinol product, two to three nights a week, a pea-sized amount, moisturiser after. Never two retinol products on the same night. Sunscreen every morning without exception.
Apply a small amount to a discreet area of the jawline once daily for 2–3 days. Stop if persistent redness, itching or irritation occurs.
Shop what this guide covers
FAQs
Two ways to take the same active. Hydra Glow Cream is retinol 0.3% in a rich overnight base, with niacinamide, alpha arbutin and kojic acid alongside it. The Age Defying Serum carries the same retinol, niacinamide, alpha arbutin and kojic acid in a serum, plus a Matrixyl 3000 peptide complex, and is for people who already use retinol. Both are night-only, and you use one of them on a given night, never both.



